Asset 1

Global Go To Think Tank Index (GGTTI) 2020 launched                    111,75 Think Tanks across the world ranked in different categories.                SDPI is ranked 90th among “Top Think Tanks Worldwide (non-US)”.           SDPI stands 11th among Top Think Tanks in South & South East Asia & the Pacific (excluding India).            SDPI notches 33rd position in “Best New Idea or Paradigm Developed by A Think Tank” category.                SDPI remains 42nd in “Best Quality Assurance and Integrity Policies and Procedure” category.              SDPI stands 49th in “Think Tank to Watch in 2020”.            SDPI gets 52nd position among “Best Independent Think Tanks”.                           SDPI becomes 63rd in “Best Advocacy Campaign” category.                   SDPI secures 60th position in “Best Institutional Collaboration Involving Two or More Think Tanks” category.                       SDPI obtains 64th position in “Best Use of Media (Print & Electronic)” category.               SDPI gains 66th position in “Top Environment Policy Tink Tanks” category.                SDPI achieves 76th position in “Think Tanks With Best External Relations/Public Engagement Program” category.                    SDPI notches 99th position in “Top Social Policy Think Tanks”.            SDPI wins 140th position among “Top Domestic Economic Policy Think Tanks”.               SDPI is placed among special non-ranked category of Think Tanks – “Best Policy and Institutional Response to COVID-19”.                                            Owing to COVID-19 outbreak, SDPI staff is working from home from 9am to 5pm five days a week. All our staff members are available on phone, email and/or any other digital/electronic modes of communication during our usual official hours. You can also find all our work related to COVID-19 in orange entries in our publications section below.    The Sustainable Development Policy Institute (SDPI) is pleased to announce its Twenty-third Sustainable Development Conference (SDC) from 14 – 17 December 2020 in Islamabad, Pakistan. The overarching theme of this year’s Conference is Sustainable Development in the Times of COVID-19. Read more…       FOOD SECIRITY DASHBOARD: On 4th Nov, SDPI has shared the first prototype of Food Security Dashboard with Dr Moeed Yousaf, the Special Assistant to Prime Minister on  National Security and Economic Outreach in the presence of stakeholders, including Ministry of National Food Security and Research. Provincial and district authorities attended the event in person or through zoom. The dashboard will help the government monitor and regulate the supply chain of essential food commodities.


Published Date: Oct 12, 2013

Advisory committee for PC constituted

The government has constituted a high-powered advisory committee of the Planning Commission headed by Minister for Planning and Development Ahsan Iqbal.

A notification said the advisory committee will include 26 members from the private sectors and 28 government officers by special invitations, mostly federal secretaries of all important ministries.

The constitution of the committee was approved by Prime Minister Mian Nawaz Sharif.

The committee will work as a strategic think tank on policy issues of
Planning Commission, guide the commission in policy formulation, reforms and its implementation in accordance with the vision of present government and in the national interest.

The committee will also help to generate and build consensus on policies and strategies of the planning commission, provide input and feedback from non-government stakeholders to the policies, performance of the planning commission.

The committee shall meet at least once in each quarter. The member of
the committee will work without remuneration but can claims travel cost
for meeting.

The members of the advisory committee include Senator Ch. Jaffar Iqbal, Senator Osman Saifullah, MNA Qaiser Ahmad Shaikh, MNA Miss Arifa Khalid Pervaiz, Executive Director SDPI Dr Abid Qayum Suleri, Dr Sania Nishtar, Sikandar Mustafa Khan, Usman Haider, Dr Navid Hamid, Salim Ghouri, Iftikhar Malik, Dr Faruuk Saleem, Dr Wasim Azher, Jehangir Bashar, Eng. Mohammad Asghar, Dr Sohail H. Naqvi, Dr Gulfraz Ahmed, Nasir Ali Shah Bukhari, Dr Imtiaz Rastgar, Dr Ishrat Hussain, Ismail Miftah, Sulman Najib Khan, Sultan Barq, Amin Jan and Lt. Gen. (retd) Sabahat Hussain.